Skip to content

5K PR and Chicago Marathon Training

August 31, 2011

I’m having problems coming to grips with the idea of getting and BEING faster.  I still consider myself a slow 6’4″ guy.  I just can’t get past that idea, but I suppose running a 20:52 5K means I need to drop the “slow” descriptor.

This past Saturday I ran in my hometown’s 5k – the Waterloo Optimist’s Club 5k.  It’s on a course that I run all the time in training.  It’s also a very hilly course for a 5K.  My goal was sub 21:00 and given the small nature of a local 5K I had hopes of at least a 3rd in my age group.  I managed to go sub 21 with a 20:52 (6:46 pace) and got 2nd in my age group.  I finished about 3 seconds behind the 1st place finisher in my group.  I gave it all I had… I didn’t have enough left to make it a real race at the end.  “Racing” is something new and something I’ll need to work on.

These fast 5Ks aren’t really my thing, but I can say I was pretty pumped to see 20:52 as I crossed the line.  On a downside though, I ran so hard I could only eat half of a post race bratwurst.  😉  It’s a tradition.

Next up is a little race called the Bank of America Chicago Marathon with 35,000 of my closest friends.  I have 6 weeks to go and I’m in the middle of my biggest week – first of 2 20 milers and 55 total miles for the week.  I’m very happy to report that my training is going very well.  I had a little pain on the inside of my lower left leg last week, but after some icing everything is back to normal and I’m feeling good.

I have been running in my Newtons (one of our awesome sponsors for Glucomotive) and absolutely love them.  Can’t wait for our trip to Chicago and running a 3:50 marathon in them on October 9th!

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 24, 2011 4:23 pm

    Congrats Gary! Very cool!

Leave a Reply

