Skip to content

Help Support and Inspire People with Type 1 Diabetes

June 2, 2011

In July I will be running in the Ragnar Relay Northwest Passage 187 mile, 24 hour race along with 11 other athletes with type 1 diabetes as a part of Team Glucomotive.  I will be running 3 different times over the course of 24 hours, covering approx. 18 miles total.

I am raising money for our sponsor, Insulindependence (iD) and I need your support by making a donation to this fantastic organization.  iD changes lives by helping individuals of all ages with diabetes overcome challenges and fears.  Children with Type 1 Diabetes have a special place in my heart and iD has a number of amazing programs that help mentor and inspire kids living with this terrible disease.

This will be my 3rd Ragnar Relay with iD.  The previous 2 races were incredible learning experiences and have provided me with friendships and a life-long support group.  By supporting me, you will also provide the opportunity for others to have this same experience and to live life to its fullest despite living with diabetes.

Please consider making a tax-deductible donation to help support me and Insulindependence.

My teammates and I are each required to raise $800, so ANYTHING you can give would be tremendously appreciated.

To make a donation, visit my donation page here.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 5, 2011 9:10 am

    What a inspirational message for those of us with Type 1 Diabetes! I too have this terrible disease and its neuropathy. I lost 60 pounds and have been maintaining my weight loss for over 2 years. I have neuopathy in my feel and digestive tract, but its better since losing my weight.

    Today I am trying to run, but am having hypoglycemic issues. I hate eating 400+ calories just to be able to run a 5K. Any advice would be appreciated!

  2. September 6, 2011 10:26 am

    Hi Sheri,

    For me I have to really watch my Insulin on board (IOB) before running. I have a pump, so I will lower my basal by at least 50% for 1 or 2 hours BEFORE heading out for a run. This really helps in the morning. I’m also careful to check my IOB before heading out. If I have very much (even a couple units will cause a problem) I have to eat enough carbs to cover the IOB.

    Those two things should help you out. Best of luck and glad to hear you are running!

    Gary

  3. Brian permalink
    September 22, 2011 1:42 am

    I have recently adopted to run as a habit. I have read many blogs and have been thoroughly startled to see many Diabetic patients resorting to sports like Marathon & Cycling. Apart from maintaining my calorie levels with Natvia’s products, which forms a happy bulk of my dishes, I am involving myself in Sports incrementally.

  4. Michael permalink
    September 24, 2011 9:06 pm

    Thats a great deed being done. I have raised money for an orphanage similarly by organising an event. IT feels great to see people turning up happily for a great cause. @Brian, keep running and exercising. And yes, Natvia (http://natvia.com) is recommended to all as Brian mentioned.

  5. Brian permalink
    September 25, 2011 7:13 am

    I have recently adopted to run as a habit. I have read many blogs and have been thoroughly startled to see many Diabetic patients resorting to sports like Marathon & Cycling. Apart from maintaining my calorie levels with Natvia’s http://natvia.com products, which forms a happy bulk of my dishes, I am involving myself in Sports incrementally.

Leave a Reply

