Skip to content

State of the Union

April 13, 2011

I’ve been slacking quite a bit on my blogging and need to get back in gear.  In order to catch everybody up I thought I’d give a little State of the Union address, since there has been a ton going on.

Since my last post I have run two races.  The first was the St. Patty’s Day 5 miler here in downtown St. Louis.  This a small local little race with me and 12,000 of my closest running buddies –   a HUGE deal here in STL.  I decided to run at the last minute and actually wound up getting a number from a friend (ironically another Type 1 Diabetic) that couldn’t run.  No race fee for me, but I also missed out on getting a very cool green tech shirt.  I do love race shirts.  I didn’t have a goal in mind for this one and just decided see what happened on race morning.  I ran a 43:47, which is a pretty good tempo run.

The other race was my 3rd running of the U-City 10 Mile.  This has historically been a great race for me.  I really enjoy the 10 mile distance.  Although not exactly trained for a fast 10 miler, I managed a PR of 1:21:25.

I am currently knee deep in triathlon training.  I have a 450m/15.5/5 mile Tri coming up in Cape Girardeau on May 1st and then my “A” race of the Spring is an Olympic distance Tri at Carlyle on May 22nd.  I’m excited about a fun May and will be doing my best to get my Oly PR under 3 hours.

Besides my usual training I have been very active in the community.  First off, I’m serving as the Glucomotive Club Manager for Insulindependence for the 2011-12 season.  We have 8 awesome captains that will be training for the 2012 Denver Marathon and fundraising for iD.  I’ll be writing much more about this soon, but I’m extremely honored to have been asked to fill this position and excited about 2011-12.  Secondly, myself and two other local athletes with T1 (James Murphy and Audrey Joseph) have started the St. Louis Dawn Phenom.  This is a STL area “support group” for athletes with diabetes.  We held our first quarterly meeting last month and had a tremendous turnout and will be holding our first monthly group run this Saturday.  Looking forward to connecting with as many active folks with diabetes in STL as possible!

And finally, I’ll be running another Ragnar Relay with iD this coming July and have a fundraising goal of $800.  Please considering supporting me and Insulindependence.  I can never say enough great things about these folks and the organization.  They have changed my life.  Any amount you can give will be greatly appreciated.  You can make a donation in my name here.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Brian Phelps permalink
    April 13, 2011 10:40 am

    Gary, Great time on the 10 mile race. 8min/mile is amazing to me. I didn’t know that the 2012 Denver Marathon was the culminating event next year for Glucomotive. That is awesome and I will put it on my calendar (to spectate ;->).

  2. April 14, 2011 8:51 pm

    Good races. I’m also signed up for the iD ragnar event in July. Looking forward to meeting you there!

Leave a Reply

