Skip to content

Giving CGM Another Try

January 27, 2011

Almost exactly 2 years ago I gave the Minimed CGM a try.  At first I loved it and quickly couldn’t imagine life without it.  Sure, it was awkward to wear, hurt like the dickens upon insertion, and wasn’t exactly accurate, but the information it gave me was awesome.

That wore off quickly.  After about 5 months, I gave up on it and immediately stopped using it.  Read about the final straw here.  Nothing like throwing away money, but I simply hated the thing.  It was uncomfortable and I couldn’t rely on it.

From one of my race reports

Right before the race start I got a CAL ERROR on my CGM.  Awesome.  Ran back to the car to test again.  Now at 222.  Still ok BG wise, but not perfect.  About a mile down the road…  SENSOR BAD.  F.  I decided to go ahead and restart the sensor to see what happens.  A few minutes later the CGM asked for a BG reading, so I just faked it and put in 200 or something.  I really don’t remember for sure, but I don’t believe the CGM ever came back on with a good BG number.  Shortly after the race, I got another SENSOR BAD error and shut ‘er down after that.  I don’t know what the problem was, but my CGM completely failed me yesterday.

This was the kind of crap that drove me over the edge.

Flash forward to Sunday.  I had just finished my 3rd marathon in Carlsbad CA (report to come soon!) and was sitting with my Insulindependence friends at a post race BBQ, when I noticed – what seemed like – every single one of them holding Dexcoms.  After a quick talk with one of them, I had pretty much made up my mind to give this another try.  I have heard great things about Dexcom and hearing testimony from fellow diabetic marathoners and triathletes, I was sold.

A few years ago when the Dexcom first came out I did a trial through my Endo’s office.  I liked it, but at the time the sensor wasn’t waterproof.  In order to shower, I had to put this ridiculous “waterproof” patch over it to keep it from getting wet.  Not cool.  Not going to happen.  My insurance at the time also wasn’t going to cover it.  Not cool.  Definitely not going to happen.  Now, it’s water proof and my insurance will cover most of the cost.  Good deal.

Tuesday I sent in the paper work and today I place the order.  My Dex should arrive early next week.  Rock on United Health Care for the lightning fast approval!

Can’t wait to give CGM another try!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 27, 2011 11:33 pm

    Thanks for posting, Gary. It reminds that I need to give it another try, too. I first went off of using cgm’s when I took a break from the insulin pump. I’ve been back on the pump for almost a year and have since bought the Dexcom. The first sensor failed me, but the second one lasted almost a week. It started to fall off before it actually stopped working (and reasonably accurrate, too). The only downside is to have to wear/carry yet another device. I want to wear at least one sensor per month to see how my body is responding to ironman training (during and after exercise). Unless I figure out how to more efficiently test while on the bike, I intend to rely on my Dexcom at IMSG. Good luck!

  2. Lorraine permalink
    January 28, 2011 8:01 am

    Good luck Gary. Caleb’s used the Seven Plus for almost a year and a half and I think it’s a great, great tool. We have never used anything else, but I’ve heard people say there is much improvement from the models just a few years ago – I’m sure that was part of your discussion with your friends.

    I’m hopeful you will be pleased. It’s still less than perfect of course, but a great help in the game of D.

  3. January 28, 2011 6:30 pm

    Peer pressure claims another victim.
    I have a Dex at home in the box. I’m going for training on it on Monday.

Leave a Reply

