Skip to content

Memphis in the Meantime

November 30, 2010

It’s almost go time!

Friday we will be heading down to Memphis for my second marathon.  Friday evening we will hit the race Expo and then head over to the Memphis Grizzlies basketball game for a pre-race pasta dinner and then enjoy the game.  The weather is looking fantastic!  Around 40* at the start and up to 50* by the finish.  Nice.  I’m also excited about a Saturday race.  I’m guessing that the Beale St. area, which is right by the finish, will be pretty fun Saturday evening after the race.  Should be a great weekend.

Oh, and then there’s this…

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Lorraine permalink
    December 2, 2010 10:18 am

    Good luck Gary!

  2. Don M permalink
    June 3, 2011 11:30 pm

    Gary,

    Sorry to hear about your CGM experience. I have a different story to tell. I live in Dallas and the big marathon / half marathon down here is White Rock, which is held on December 4th or 5th. Usually it’s pretty @&#&^ cold. Got about four miles into the half and thought it would be a good time to check my bg. I have a small meter I carry in a cellphone-sized pack with a shoulder strap, so I got it out and tested. Got an out of temperature range error (basically) every time I tested for the rest of the race, though to be honest, I quite testing around mile 8 or 9.

    The one thing that was warm enough to produce a result was my medtronic CGM. Yes, it was 20 minutes out of date, but there’s a “cheat”, which is to multiply the ISIG by 10 and add whatever the correction factor was when you calibrated it last. I made it through the half just fine, sugar at end was 100. Of course, forgot to bolus afterwards and it spiked. But it was not a bad race. Second year I ran another half same time of year, same problem. The only thing that will work in the cold is my CGM. Go figure.

    Cool runnings! (literally)

    Don

Leave a Reply

