Skip to content

Treadmill, oh how I hate thee.

November 24, 2010

Today I did my longest treadmill run to date:  8 miles.  The run included 3 x 1 mile at 5K pace, so I at least had something to break up the boredom.  I ran on a very nice treadmill at my local Y, while watching 5 different silent TVs and listening to a podcast.  Honestly, it wasn’t horrible today…  it wasn’t enjoyable either, but I survived.

I avoid the TM as much as possible.  I will run in pretty bad conditions, but today it was a mix of miserable rain and cold, so inside I went.  One of the things I enjoy about running is the journey.  Going from here to there.  Being outside.  Enjoying the Fall colors and the crisp air.   So, when I’m inside and I’ve just run 8 miles and not moved forward an inch…  eh, not that exciting to me.

Another thing that is difficult for me as a type 1 diabetic, is recognizing lows while running on a TM.  Whenever I get off of a TM, I’m a little bit dizzy and I really can’t tell the difference between that and, say, a BG of 40.  Very odd feeling, but the 2 things are very similar.  Of course, the only thing to do is test.  Today after finishing? 110.  Nice.

So, treadmill – today was alright and you are a necessary evil at times, but I still hate you.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

