Skip to content

2010 Toast of Marissa 5K

November 15, 2010

Over the weekend I headed back to the small town I grew up in and ran the 2nd Annual Toast of Marissa 5K.  This run was sandwiched between an 11 mile run on Friday (I did a little audio recording during this, by the way) and a 20 miler on Sunday, so I wanted to take things easy and not go crazy.  My “A” race right now is the Memphis Marathon on Dec 4th, so doing an all-out 5K at this point and risking injury was not a priority.

Last year at this race, I ran my 5K PR in 22:30.  My splits were 7:31, 7:29, 7:16.  Even if I wanted to go for a PR, I wasn’t sure it was possible.  I had planned to run 7:45s and just cruise a bit.  Well, I just cruised and was only 8 seconds off of my PR.  Ran an unofficial 22:38.  Splits were 7:34, 7:31, 7:25.  I remember running pretty hard last year and really feeling it.  This year, this pace was MUCH easier.  While I could’ve run faster and set a new PR, I’m not at all disappointed, because I had a plan and stuck with it and had a good run.

One funny (dangerous?) situation was when a train came through and stopped the race leaders about .3 miles from the finish.  Fortunately I’m not that fast and wasn’t affected.  Apparently, the train stopped them for 2 minutes.  The race organizers did call the train company and ask that they not run through town at that time, but apparently they didn’t listen.  Doh!

I enjoyed being back home and running this race again.  Maybe only 50 people or so ran it, but it doesn’t matter.  Got to have a good run around my old childhood streets, got a nice long sleeve shirt, and enjoyed another post-race brat.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

