Skip to content

Saucony Kinvara – My Review

November 11, 2010

Love ’em.  Absolutely love ’em.

I started out with New Balance 1062s, then moved to Mizuno Wave Creations and then on to Mizuno Wave Riders.  I’ve slowly moved on to lighter and lighter shoes and I think I finally have THE shoe for me – Saucony Kinvaras.

The description from the Saucony website describes the Kinvaras as:

  • Neutral running shoe that allows your foot to run uninhibited
  • Lightweight, flexible
  • Minimal midsole construction with protection from the pavement
  • Weight: 7.7 oz

The Kinvaras are the latest in the “Minimal” shoe style.  The idea is to force you into a more natural, mid-foot running style as opposed to heel-striking.  With other shoes that I have wore, I have always wore down the outside heel of the shoe.  While I was trying to land mid-foot, I obviously was not.  When I bought my first pair of Kinvaras (I’m on pair #3 now) I re-committed myself to mid-foot landing.  It took a few weeks for my legs to adjust.  My calves were very sore and it felt like I was starting to run all over again.  Since that initial period, I have had no issues and I’m running injury and pain free.  NOTE:  I used to wear Superfeet inserts in my shoes to help alleviate arch pain.  Since I’ve been running in the Kinvaras and landing mid-foot, I haven’t needed the inserts and my arch pain has gone away.

These shoes are SO comfy.  They feel like slippers.  While they are a minimalist shoe, they feel quite cushy and supportive.  The other nice thing for triathlons (shorter ones specifically) is that these shoes feel great even without socks.

The only thing odd about these shoes is how the “lugs” on the outer portion of the fore foot wear down.  They wear down fast, but do not seem to affect the overall support of the shoe.

Here’s a pic of a new shoe.

The black triangles are very hard and wear very well.  The “lugs” on the outside right of the forefoot are what wear down.

Here’s a pair with about 300 miles.

I’ve seen other pics from other folks and EVERYBODY’S look like this.

All things considered, I truly love these shoes.  This is the first version of this shoe from Saucony, so I can imagine they will only get better over time.  If you are looking for a minimalist shoes and want to focus on mid-foot landing, I can’t recommend these shoes enough.

DISCLAIMER:  I’m not a professional shoe reviewer.  Duh.  Check out the video on this Saucony page for a more detail review.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Lorraine permalink
    November 11, 2010 10:07 am

    I am amazed at the beating Colin’s shoes have taken. It’s like they are disposable. Thanks for your review!

    • November 11, 2010 10:09 am

      “Disposable” is right. I get just over 300 miles and that’s about it. Marathon training is expensive. Just ask my wife. 😉

  2. Mindy Schmidt permalink
    November 12, 2010 8:53 am

    Yes, it is expensive! I always thought the girl in the relationship should get to buy the most expensive shoes. Not the case in ours 🙂

  3. Lorraine permalink
    November 12, 2010 8:55 am

    lol 🙂

Leave a Reply

