Skip to content

My Favorite Organization: Insulindependence

November 10, 2010

Today I thought I’d share a little bit about my favorite organization and the one that I associate myself with: Insulindependence.

I have done two events with Insulindependence, the 2009 Ragnar Relay Del Sol and the 2010 Ragnar Relay Great River and will be doing another in January at the Carlsbad Marathon.  These events have given me the opportunity to meet some amazing people and learn so much about managing diabetes while living an active lifestyle.

Insulindependence changes lives by helping individuals of all ages with diabetes overcome challenges and fears.  Children with Type 1 Diabetes have a special place in my heart and Insulindependence has a number of amazing programs that help mentor and inspire kids living with this terrible disease.

The two iD programs that I’m involved with and know the most about are Triabetes, the triathlon club, and Glucomotive, the running club.  (For more info on other clubs and programs click here.  There are some great ones!).  Triabetes was born from Michelle Alswager who recently lost her amazing son, Jesse, to diabetes.  Imagine a program that pairs children with Type 1 Diabetes with men and women, also with Type 1, who are competing in Ironman triathlons.  Talk about some inspirational stuff.  By the way… If you ever have a chance to see Michelle’s Triabetes Documentary, please do.  It’s  terrific.

If you have some time, please check out iD and some of the links in this post.  I can’t even begin to tell you have much I love this organization, the people running it and the people that I have met through it.  As I have said before – Insulindependence changes lives.

If you want some more information or would be interested in making a donation, please don’t hesitate to contact me.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

