Skip to content

Memphis Marathon Training – 25 days to go

November 8, 2010

I will be running the St. Jude’s Memphis Marathon on December 4th.  I have been training specifically for this race since the end of September right after finishing the Branson 70.3.  For this marathon I am following the popular Advanced Marathoning Pfitzinger 12/55 plan.  12 weeks with 55 miles at the peak.  FYI… this is NOT a beginner’s plan.  Your typical 5 milers during the week are now 8 or so and the mid-week runs of 8+ are now 10 – 12.  Not many “junk” miles in this plan, but that’s a good thing.  I’m shooting for a sub 4:00 marathon this time and I’m hopeful that this plan will get me there.

Last week’s recap:

  • 8 miles – 1:13, 9:10 pace.  Included 5x600m at 7:30-ish pace
  • 11 miles – 1:45, 9:33 pace
  • 10 miles – 1:34, 9:22 pace
  • 17 miles – 2:43, 9:33 pace

Total of 46 miles for the week.  This week was coming off my first 20 miler of this plan and after running 8 with intervals on Tuesday I felt great, but after a cold 11 on Weds. morning I developed some soreness on my lower left leg.  I have been very fortunate to be pain free, so when something pops up I’m just not used to dealing with it.  I had a 4 miler planned for Thursday, but decided to take the day off and rest.  Friday’s 10 miler started off painfully, but after getting warmed up, the pain went away and I’ve felt perfectly fine since.  Yeah.  The week then ended with an uneventful, but fairly tired 17.

This coming week with feature my second and last 20 miler and then it’s taper time already!  Holy smokes.  Dec 4th is going to be here quick!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

