Skip to content

This is the crap that drives me crazy

November 2, 2010

If you know me personally, you know one thing:  I truly love insurance companies.

Another thing you would know about me is that I’m extremely sarcastic.

A few weeks ago I refilled my test strip prescription.  I had been getting 300 strips for 30 days.  10 tests per day per doctors orders.  This time I only got 200.  Odd.  So, I called the pharmacy and then said the insurance company would only do 200 for 20 days.  Fine…  I suppose.

Now I go to refill this prescription and it gets rejected because it’s too early (when I started this I was right at 20 days).  Awesome.  Love this.  I call the pharmacy again.  Turns out that my provider had switched it’s provider on the prescription side and naturally they don’t have to follow the way things were before, because they have there own rules.  Great.  They say I can have 204 (200 and 4?)  for 30 days.  Yeah, but my doctor gave me a prescription for 10 a day.  You do the math.

The lady at Walgreens was very nice and has offered to get this all going for me.  I need pre-approval or another prescription from my doctor or a letter from the Pope or something, but it’ll probably take a day or so, which of course means I’ll be out of strips and will have to buy more on my own until my new prescription comes through.

This is the crap that drives me crazy.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 2, 2010 12:44 pm

    Not to mention CGM would probably be cheaper for them than 10 strips per day…

    True story: I went on the pump because I went to my Dr. about Lantus (this was 8 years ago) and he said my insurance wouldn’t cover Lantus, but it would cover a pump. Yes – 6k made more sense to them than a vial of insulin. To this day, I’ve never been on Lantus.

  2. Lorraine permalink
    November 2, 2010 3:17 pm

    It shouldn’t be so hard to take care of yourself. 😦

  3. November 2, 2010 6:29 pm

    I *love* insurance companies, too. Their logic makes no sense.

  4. Harry permalink
    November 3, 2010 11:46 am

    Dude, I had the exact same problem a few weeks ago, except my limit was 300 over 90 days. I guess I need to call my insurance company every time I think I need to check my bg, just to see if they agree. Luckily I’ll only need to do this 3 times a day by their math. 🙂

Leave a Reply

