Skip to content

2010 Gumbo Flats 10K

October 25, 2010

It’s that time of the year again…  time for a new 10K PR!

Saturday I ran one of my favorite races on my calendar – the 2010 Gumbo Flats Pumpkin Run in Chesterfield, MO.  There really is nothing special about the run.  It is pancake flat.  Just a simple out and back through a business park and a small airport runway.  What sets it apart is the fantastic spread provided after the race  (Naturally, the best part of a race is the food afterward) and the atmosphere.  I just really enjoy this race and 10K is my favorite distance.

I am in the middle of marathon training and with a sub 4:00 marathon goal, I have been running faster lately and my weekly mileage has been way up.  All this should lead to a pretty good 10K… and it did.  Going into the race I wanted to at least beat my 53:41 from the previous year (also note the 57:48 from 2008.  My 1st 10K ever…  literally).  I was shooting for 52 with an 8:30 pace.  50:00 didn’t even cross my mind UNTIL I saw 34:00 on my watch around the 4 mile mark then it was go time.  I was soooo close.  Finished in 50:09.  Very pleased and happy with my progress over the last 2 years of running.

My splits were 8:12, 8:19, 8:17,8:13, 7:51,7:24, and 6:56 for the .2.   I was aiming for an 8:30 pace, but I’ve come to realize, I don’t have an 8:30 pace.  I have an 8:15 or an 8:45, but nothing in between.  I was feeling pretty good, so I decided to settle into the 8:15-ish and go for it.  Glad I did.

As a parting note, there was one giant disappointment.  While they did have Chick-fil-a, they didn’t have the mini breakfast sandwiches (see this and this for reference).  Just the nuggets.  Boo!!!!  I had to settle for nuggets, a slice of pizza, a BBQ pulled pork sandwich and a brownie.  I suppose I’ll let it slide this year…

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Anne Findlay permalink
    October 25, 2010 2:35 pm

    congrats, Gary!! I feel a sub-50 10k coming on.

    -anne

  2. October 25, 2010 2:49 pm

    The best part about marathon training are the collateral PR’s that come when you do it right! Well done!

  3. Lorraine permalink
    October 30, 2010 2:01 pm

    Great job Gary! Now that Colin is racing, I have a clue (although slight) as to what constitutes a good time. That sounds like a fabulous one!

    Congrats!

Leave a Reply

