Skip to content

6 Weeks to Go to 70.3

August 9, 2010

It’s been a while since I’ve written and I have gone through some ups (2 very good races) and downs (1 very bad race) and I have 6 weeks to go until Branson 70.3.  Let’s get caught up…

On June 12, I did my local YMCA’s biathlon and had a great race.  This was a 3.5 run and a 17 mile bike.  I turned in a 1:20:40 and was very pleased.

On June 27, I ran the TriGreenville Olympic distance triathlon in Greenville, IL.  I came in with a disappointing 3:12:31.  I felt pretty good on the swim, but then struggled with high BGs and never felt right on the bike.  I tried to save myself for the run, but had nothing left and had to walk a majority of the run.  The course starts and ends on some hilly trails that just killed me.  The heat was also a huge issue.  I felt absolutely awful after this race, but it served as a wake up call.  I was nowhere near where I should’ve been physically.  My training needed to pick up or Branson was going to be a problem.

Yesterday was another race at Greenville and we decided to do the Sprint distance this time – The heat and humid is ridiculous and I needed a confidence builder.  This sprint was a .25 mile swim, a 13 mile bike and a 3 mile run.  I’ve found out that I’m not a sprint swimmer (see this).  I always start off too fast and then suffer.  The water temp was…  I don’t know…  300 degrees… give or take… and it was murky.  I felt like I couldn’t breath out and was forced to mix in some breath strokes.  I struggled through and still managed to turn in a decent time.  I was 16th out of 50 or so with a 7:30 ish swim time.  Out on the bike I hammered it pretty good, averaging 19.9 MPH and finishing in 40:40, putting me in 10th.  I felt good off the bike and hit the trails.  I dropped a few spots, but ran a 26:03 for the 3 miles and finished 15th overall.  My finish time was 1:17:32 and I feel MUCH better about my current conditioning.

EDIT- I just found out that this was good enough for 1st in my age group  (there were 3 of us, but whatever…)

Including this week, I have 6 weeks to go until Branson.  Up to this point I have done 2 50 mile rides and have finally gotten back to long runs in the double digits.  My run is getting back to where it should be, but I still need to make some improvements on the bike.  I’m consistently riding 25 miles, but need to make that jump to the next level to where 40-50 miles feels easy.  I’m getting there, but have some work to do, especially in the area of nutrition.  I need to nail down how to stay hydrated and have enough calories to feel ready to run 13.1 off the bike.

It’s crunch time and I’m going to get back to regular posts – I know you are all very excited.

Next up?  Ragnar Relay Great River with Team Glucomotive!  I can’t wait.  24+ hours, 200 miles, 12 diabetics.  Awesome.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. JB Cunningham permalink
    August 17, 2010 10:41 am

    I just went on insulin 4 days ago and I am having a major problems with lows while I’m running. I’ve had to cut my runs short a couple times already because of lows. I run in the evenings and I am injecting so I can not adjust my basal. I’m unsure of how long before my run I should eat with a bolus injection (maybe I should adjust my bolus). I’m just really really confused!! Can you give me some advise on how to adjust my injections to prevent the lows?

    • Gillian permalink
      August 23, 2010 4:28 pm

      JB
      Try these:
      Adjust bolus if you know you are going to run.
      Always carry glucose with you initially until you get this figured out. Or carry something like Cliff shot blocks and eat 1 every 15-30 minutes minutes of running. Each block has 8g of carbs which should keep you going.
      Intensity also makes a difference, if you are doing sprints I would say you need more glucose sooner. If its a leisurely jog then less glucose.

      I’m assuming you are running for less than an hour if it was more than an hour I would take a gel every 45 minutes. Hammer gels are the best because they do not spike your sugar as much as the other gels.

      I am not a professional but i’ve run 19 marathons and completed 3 half ironman triathlons since being diagnosed. So i’ve been through the grind! Keep it up. I know its difficult.

      Gary, along with gu’s / blocks try using sustained energy(no flavor) by Hammer mixed with 1 or 2 gu’s for your long rides. This will give you a good amount of calories and sippable form. You can experiment with taste.

  2. August 17, 2010 1:33 pm

    JB, sorry to hear you are having problems, but you can do it!

    Watching your Insulin on Board (IOB) is one of the most import things you can do. I still struggle with it especially if I run in the afternoon after lunch. I on a pump, so I can easily adjust my basal and I can also check it to see what my IOB is. I didn’t start running until after I had a pump, so my experience is limited to that.

    Prior to running I will lower my basal for 2 hours by around 50% and then eat 15 to 20 g of carbs before heading out (no bolus here). Doing this in the morning is all I need to get thru an hour long run without issue. I’ll go out with a BG of 100. No problem. Running later in the day with some IOB, I’ll eat my normal 15 to 20 g of carbs, but then maybe a bit more to cover how much insulin my body current has left over from lunch or dinner. This is a new practice for me and seems to be helping.

    If you are running fairly soon after eating (1 to 2 hours or so), maybe you can cut your bolus amount down from what you would normally take? Unfortunately this will be a trial and error thing, but you will get it figured out.

    Here’s a blog posts that goes into more detail of what *I* do.
    https://runningwitht1.wordpress.com/2009/09/21/chicago-marathon-training-week-13/

    Good luck!

Leave a Reply

