Skip to content

Gateway Triathlon 2010

May 28, 2010

I finished my first Olympic Distance Triathlon this past weekend at the Gateway Triathlon in Carlyle, IL.  The Olympic Distance includes a 1500 meter swim, 40K bike, and a 10K run.  I managed to swim 1500 meters and bike 40K, but the 10K didn’t involve much running.

This would be my first big open water swim and I was dreading it.  I was comfortable with the distance, but getting out there without that black line at the bottom to follow and the issue of dealing with a bunch of other swimmers can be a bit overwhelming.  The water temp was “cool” at 70 degrees, but by no means was it cold especially since I would be wearing a wetsuit.  Surprisingly, I really enjoyed the swim.  First of all, swimming in a wetsuit feels a little like swimming on a surf board.  It is crazy.  You’re legs just float along and you just FLY.  Love it.  I took it pretty easy, had no problems sighting at all, and actually had fun out there.  I turned in a 28:33 1500 meter swim.  Couldn’t be happier with this time.

My 1st transition time was 3:40.  This is not terrible considering I had to climb a huge hill to get up to the transition area from the lake, get out of my suit, test, get ready to ride, all while feeling quite dizzy coming out of the water.

I finished the 24 mile bike ride in 1:17:47.  The ride was an out-and-back course and naturally the “back” was dead into the wind.  The course is mostly flat, but did include a couple short hills in the middle.  The ride back to transition was tough.  With the head-wind, I probably only averaged 15 MPH.  This was a perfect setup for a bad run.

Transition 2 time was 1:43.  Lighting fast… for me!

Here’s where it gets ugly.  This race started at 9, which put me out for my run around 11:00 am.  Did I mention that it was 90 degrees?

I was done as soon as I left transition.  I had nothing left and had 6 miles to go.  It took me 1:11:43 to cover the 10K distance, which is by far my slowest 10K.  I HATE walking in these races, but felt it was much smarter to play it safe in the heat and not get myself into to trouble.  It was some consolation to notice that nearly every single person was walking at some point.  It takes time to acclimate to running in the heat and here in the St. Louis area, we just haven’t had to deal with it yet.  So, with a mixture of walking and running, I finished with a 3:03:24.

My BG numbers were very good all day.  One of my concerns was how to handle the time just before the race.  Normally at triathlons there is a period of time before the start that the transition area closes and everybody is called in for a pre-race meeting.  For this race, the transition area closed at 8:40 for the 9:00 start.  So, I waited until they announced that it was closing before disconnecting my pump and leaving it in my bike shoes.  At this point I tested at 172 and was coming down just a little, but I figured I may have some nerves to deal with, so I felt like I was in pretty good shape.  Usually before I start any exercise I will eat 20-30 grams of carbs, but since I would be disconnected from my pump for 20 minutes before the start, I decided to forgo the snack.  I tucked a GU into my wetsuit just in case and off I went…  Post swim BG?  152.  NICE!

Post race BG?  147.  Sweet!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 28, 2010 10:21 am

    Awesome Gary, awesome. Congrats on doing a great race, forget about the run. That kind of heat can be so hard to deal with. The big thing is you got out there and did it. The hardest part is getting to the starting line.
    You should be super proud of yourself. I’m proud of you for killin it. Nice work and now I’m motivated to go do a work out. It helps that it’s absolutely gorgeous in the mountains today!
    Thanks

  2. Mindy permalink
    May 28, 2010 11:03 am

    No shoutouts to the 2 women who wrestled with 5 kids age 10 mos, 2, 4, 4, and 6 in the 90 degree heat while you were out having fun?!? The athletic supporters get no love : )

  3. Lorraine permalink
    May 28, 2010 1:10 pm

    I’ll give a shout out to you Mindy! Woohoo!

    Great job to you too Gary!

  4. Mindy Schmidt permalink
    May 28, 2010 4:22 pm

    Ha! Thanks Lorraine!!!

    Have a GREAT long weekend.

  5. May 28, 2010 5:32 pm

    [Thumbs up!] Congrats on knocking down that tri! The concept of an open water swim in race conditions scares the heck out of me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

