Skip to content

To Carb or Not To Carb

May 13, 2010

Day 4 of Diabetes Blog Week – To Carb or Not To Carb.

First off, let’s be clear about one thing:  they are Carbs not “Carbos”.  You “Carb Load”.  You most definitely do not “Carbo Load”.

Ok, pet peeve out of the way.

I believe strongly in living life to its fullest despite having Type 1 Diabetes.  I have run a marathon, I have done triathlons and I’m training for a Half-Ironman, and I have done an 8-hour Adventure Race.  I also believe strongly in eating whatever I want despite having Type 1 Diabetes.

This may not be the best approach, but I don’t let this disease keep me from doing anything.

I do wish that my eating habits where better and that I ate less junk, but I’m pretty good at bolusing for anything I want.  I have to utilized the Super Bolus technique some times to prevent a big spike followed by a low.  I use a dual-wave to cover pizza.  I am a world champion carb guesstimator for pasta and have no problems with Chinese food…  wait, no… I ALWAYS have problems with Chinese food, but I digress…

Aside from being very careful what I eat before and after running/biking/swimming, I eat what I want.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Lorraine permalink
    May 13, 2010 1:21 pm

    I’m envious of your pasta carb guesstimation abilites. Thanks for the laugh re: Chinese food.

  2. May 13, 2010 1:58 pm

    Sorry, Gary, but you’re not going to change the language. It is and always has been called carbo-loading, short for carbohydrate-loading, going back to the ’60s. You can call carbohydrates carbs for short, but that doesn’t mean that we start using the word “carb’hydrates.”
    You can call carbo-loading carb-loading if you want to, but you’ll sound like a wannabe runner instead of an accomplished marathoner.

    • May 13, 2010 2:02 pm

      I’m perfectly fine with being a wannabe runner Mr. 50 Marathons. 😉

  3. May 13, 2010 2:36 pm

    Can anyone with diabetes get Chinese food right? I didn’t think so.

Leave a Reply

