Skip to content

My Biggest Supporter

May 12, 2010

Day 3 of Diabetes Blog Week –  My Biggest Supporter.

My biggest supporter is my wife.  We had been dating for just over a year when I was diagnosed, so considering the fact that I was “damaged goods” and a complete goof ball, it’s a miracle that we are married today.

The way she supports me may be a little different than you would think.  While I do get the occasional “did you test?” her support is trusting me that I am doing what I need to do to control my diabetes and stay healthy.  I really don’t need or want somebody to constantly nag me about every little thing.  She trusts me and I can’t thank her enough.

She’s also understanding when I have to play the “diabetic card”.  There are times when I get smacked by a low and I just need a minute.  She understands that lows completely suck and while I do my best to prevent them, they happen and I need a break to fix it.

Thank you Mindy for being my biggest supporter.  I can’t imagine anyone being better at being the wife of a Type 1 Diabetic.

Oh, and thanks for having a purse and carrying my meter for me.  You’re the best!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Mindy permalink
    May 12, 2010 9:54 am

    Aww schucks. I love you!

  2. Lorraine permalink
    May 12, 2010 12:03 pm

    I’m totally smiling. I’m glad to have “met” both of you. I think Mindy’s pretty cool too.

  3. May 12, 2010 9:08 pm

    Wives are the best!

Leave a Reply

