Skip to content

Making the low go

May 11, 2010

Day 2 of Diabetes Blog Week – Making the low go

My hypo-fixer of choice is a package of fruit snacks.  At times it seems like fruit snacks are literally keeping me alive.  I have the little bags stashed everywhere.  The handiest place is in the front pouch of my OneTouch meter.  Since it’s always with me, I always have snacks with me.

Lately, I’ve been hitting the Pop-Tarts pretty hard.  Some days, especially after a tough morning workout followed by yard work or other activities in the afternoon, I put away a few too many Pop-Tarts.  As a side note:  I finally kicked my self in the rear and lower my basals by .5 across the board.  WAY too many lows lately.  8+ hours of triathlon training a week will do that to ya.

During training I prefer GU.  I never (read:  NEVER… EVER!!) head out for a ride or run without GU.  GU is a fast-acting energy gel that has 100 calories and 25 grams of carbs.  The perfect amount.  They can be a bit of an acquired taste, but I really like them.  Vanilla Bean and TriBerry are my favorites, but I do also like the Chocolate Outrage (tastes just like frosting) and for the holiday season they make a Chocolate Mint.  Yum.

There ya have it – life sustaining fruit snacks, Pop-Tarts and GU!!

I need your support!  Make a donation and support me at the Great River Ragnar Relay.  Click here for more info.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 11, 2010 12:30 pm

    I find it interesting that you make a point of staying away from GU during hard training. Do the effects kick in too fast versus an alternative like fruit?

    • May 11, 2010 1:33 pm

      Vince, I’ve been trying to figure out why you asked this question. Didn’t make sense with what I wrote…. well, with what I thought I wrote. I meant to say I never go for a ride or run WITHOUT GU. LOL… With and Without are 2 very different words.

      • May 11, 2010 1:54 pm

        Now this makes much more sense to me! The original came across in such an emphatic tone that I couldn’t believe it was a typo!

  2. Lorraine permalink
    May 11, 2010 12:55 pm

    I’m putting GU on my list NOW! I keep thinking about it and I never do – thanks for the push.

  3. May 12, 2010 3:56 pm

    This is the first Making the Low Go post I’ve read that suggests three things I have never used to treat a low!!! I am definitely buying PopTarts and fruit snacks at the store tonight. Where do they sell GU, or do you order it on-line? My husband and I are just trying to get going with Couch25K and I was looking for some kind of gel thing to take with me when I “run”. (I use quotes because I don’t really consider what we are doing to be running yet – but we’ll get there, I hope!) I ended up with tiny decorative tubes of frosting – 15g each and fit in my runners belt. It was the best I could come up with!

    • May 12, 2010 5:05 pm

      I usually get GU from my local running store or they also sell it at most sporting goods places like Sports Authority. The are a bit expensive at $1+ a piece, so I save them exclusively for riding and running.

      Good luck with the C25K! That’s awesome.

Leave a Reply

