Skip to content

A day in the life . . . with diabetes

May 10, 2010

Day 1 of Diabetes Blog Week – A day in the life… with diabetes

How about yesterday…

On days that I’m running, cycling, or swimming, my “day” typically begins right before I go to bed the night before.  Yesterday morning, prior to having everybody over for Mother’s Day, I had a brick workout planned.  A brick is a combination of one or more of the triathlon disciplines.  Yesterday morning I did a 24 mile bike followed by a 3 mile run.  In order to prepare for this I needed to lower my basal 2 hours before starting my ride.  So, at around 11 PM Saturday night, I planned out what time I would start – 8:30 AM and edited a basal pattern that would lower my basal by approx. 50% starting at 6:30 AM and would stay like that until returning to normal at 10:00 AM  (planned for a 1:25 ride and a 25 minute run).

Strap in… it was a busy day and I tested a LOT.

I woke up (child assisted) at 7:00 AM and tested at 128.  Good deal.

Just before my ride, I tested again at 102 and ate a package of peanut butter crackers (no bolus here).  During my ride I ate one GU and tested at 139 before heading back out for a run and then tested at 154 right after my run (10:51 AM).  Good numbers.

Now here’s where it was going to get tricky.  For the next few hours, I needed to do some yard work and finish cleaning up the house before everyone started arriving at our house at 2.  My goal for the rest of the day was no debilitating lows.  Time for a temp basal…  oh, and 2 donuts without a bolus.  😉

12:44 PM – 87.  Doing good…  oh, and I might’ve had another donut.  Hey, I burned a ton of calories earlier!

1:57 PM – 77.  Is it time to eat yet?

2:45 PM – Lunch time.  I made it!!  Not a typical meal today for Mother’s Day, so considering that and the exercising earlier, I guesstimated and bolused for 45g of carbs.  Way lower than what I actually ate.

4:25 PM – 89.  Yeah!  Desert time.  Chocolate cake time (did I mention that I rode and ran earlier?).  Another big guesstimation and bolused for 60g of carbs.

5:48 PM – 68.  Whoops, blew the cake and lunch guesstimations.

6:41 PM – 71.  Heading out to do day 3 of the Couch to 5K with my wife.  I do the timing, give support AND push 2 kids in the jogging stroller.  Downed 30 or so grams of carbs and off we went with 2 tired and crabby kids.

7:24 PM – 134.  Hmmm… heading up a bit.

8:38 PM – 114.  Hmmmm!?!…. heading down a bit.  Had a small bag of popcorn (no bolus).

9:38 PM – 225.  K, now that’s odd.  The popcorn did not do that.  2.0u of correction.

1:23 AM (monday) – 266.  What in the world?  2..7u of correction.

6:30 AM (monday) – 227.  WTF?  Ok, bad site.  Changed the site and went on my merry way.

It’s crazy, but this really is a typical day in the life.

ps. – I was back down to 155 before lunch today.  😉

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 10, 2010 2:08 pm

    Okay. You just blew all of my usual “I can’t exercise” excuses out of the water. I’m impressed — and inspired!

  2. S.Mc permalink
    May 10, 2010 3:00 pm

    WOW! Agreed with the above comment. I’m in awe of the amount of exercise in just one of your days.

  3. May 10, 2010 4:25 pm

    My biggest hurdle in caring for my 12 y.o. son with type 1 is being comfortable with how we monitor and cover exercise. Watching him play football or ride his bike for 30+ minutes is basically terror for me, but have learned a little bit how to trust that he knows his own body and also when to jump in.

    I agree with the others – you are inspiring and keep it up! Awesome!

  4. Lorraine permalink
    May 10, 2010 4:57 pm

    Those dang sites! Pretty great day through overall. Bravo!

    • Lorraine permalink
      May 10, 2010 4:57 pm

      “though” not “through”. Good grief!

  5. May 10, 2010 7:32 pm

    Nice! I always wondered what a “brick” was, and I like the idea of using a pattern to lower my basal while I sleep.

Leave a Reply

