Skip to content

Castlewood Cup 15K Trail Race

March 3, 2010

Race #2 of my big 17 day stretch is done and it was AWESOME!

Last Saturday I ran the Castlewood Cup at Castlewood State Park in St. Louis, MO.  This was a 15K trail run and my first big trail race (or run for that matter).  I was a little worried going into this event that I was not prepared.  I was running trails when I could and was picking hilly routes for my long runs whenever possible, but I wasn’t sure if that would be enough.  I had made up my mind going into the run that I wasn’t really going to push it and was just going to go out and have fun.  And that’s exactly what I did.

I finished in 1:37:47 and had a blast.  Turns out I was physically prepared.  Couldn’t have been better.  The time went by so fast, because every second was spent watching my footing and trying not to slip or fall.  The course was a mix of mud and ruts, making for a very tough run – even my biceps were sore afterward.  Around mile six I starting thinking of a quote from the great Baby Bear of Sesame Street…  “I’m gonna be hurwtin tomorwhoa”.

There were only a few major climbs in the race and I walked them all.  The first big climb at mile 1 I walked, because there were a bunch of people and I didn’t have a choice.  The other climbs I walked, because I couldn’t have possibly ran them any faster.  Most of the course followed the contour of the hills, so the elevation changes were not a factor in this race.

The most exciting part of the race was the famed creek crossing around mile 8.  While the first half of the creek was shallow and did call for a “crossing”, the second half was deeper and felt more like a “wadding”.  The water probably got up to my shins or lower knee, but it was fun and served a good opportunity to wash the mud off my shoes for a few seconds, but after that it was back to the mud for .25 mile.  Much thanks to Big River Running for capturing some good photos!

The post-race meal was great too.  Burgers, dogs, salad, cookies, they had it all.  Certainly one of the best post-race spreads I’ve seen.

If you have never done a race like this I encourage you to do so.  It was so much fun.  The miles flew by and I look forward to doing more trail races in the future.

Oh, and by the way my BG numbers were perfect.  Lowered basal 2 hours before the start.  Ate my usual PB crackers 15 minutes prior to the start and had 2 GUs during the run.

Next up AdventureMax 8-Hour!!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Lorraine permalink
    March 3, 2010 4:55 pm

    It sounds like a wonderful experience Gary! So glad for you!

  2. Matt permalink
    March 4, 2010 6:16 am

    Ow!Sidecwamp.

Leave a Reply

