Skip to content

YMCA Winter Warmup Indoor Tri

February 23, 2010

This past weekend I participated in my first event of the year.  It was an indoor triathlon at my local YMCA.  The event called for a 500 yard swim, a 9 mile bike and a 3 mile run.  The bike portion was on the Y’s spinning bikes and the run was supposed to be on the 1/13 mile track (39 laps.  ouch).  When I arrived they said the run could be done on the track, on a treadmill, or outside.  I love curve balls race morning.  I wasn’t prepared to run outside, so I chose the treadmill over the track.

I was feeling a little nervous for this event, so I kept a close eye on my BG levels.  Before the swim I was at 158.  Perfect.  I ate my normal package of peanut butter crackers and I was ready to go.  Swimming is not exactly my strength, so I was hoping for a sub-9:30.  I got out of the water at 10:10.  I was pretty shocked by this, because I pushed it pretty good.  Some warning signs:  The guy that was counting my laps had brought out a counter, but after lap 3 I noticed it wasn’t being used.  After what I thought was lap 6, I heard them say, “that’s 5”.  Hmmm.  Interesting.  Swimming is not exactly my strength and neither is counting laps, so I went with it.  It wasn’t until I was on the bike thinking about my disappointing swim time that I realized I swam an extra lap.  I’m almost positive.  Oh, well.  I got my money’s worth in the pool.

Next up was 9 miles on a spinning bike.  I’ve never ridden a spinning bike, so I had to figure it out as I went.  I figured my time on the bike to be around 17:50 (this time includes both transition times).  Yeah, that’s pretty fast.  I’ll chalk that up to the spinning bike.

I decided to test during transition 2 and tested a 190.  A bit higher than I like to be, especially during a short event.  In hind sight, I think the nerves and pushing it hard on the swim drove up my BG more than normal.  I bolused 1.5 units and moved onto the treadmill (good move as I tested 185 after the finish).

I felt pretty sluggish starting on the run.  Couple factors here.  1.  I haven’t been doing many (ok, any) brick workouts, so that affected my transition from the bike to the run  2. Higher BG than normal and 3.  It was a treadmill.  I started out at a 10:00/mile pace and gradually cranked it up to around 7:00/mile at the end.  Run time was 27:37.

Total time was 55:37.  Not bad.  Not great.  While I’m a little disappointed with my swim time, whether I swam an extra lap or not, I do feel good that I swam 500 yards hard.  Not long ago I didn’t think I could do that.  I’ve proven other wise and can build on that for future races.

Next up – 15K trail race at Castlewood State Park!!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Lorraine permalink
    February 23, 2010 7:41 am

    Nice update, Gary. Congrats to you! Good luck at Castlewood!

  2. February 24, 2010 10:46 am

    Way to go, Gary! Great race even with the extra lap in the pool. Nice start for the season.

Leave a Reply

