Skip to content

The Next 17 Days

February 17, 2010

The next 17 days will be challenging to say the least.

This Saturday I will be doing my first triathlon of the year.  It will be an indoor tri at my local YMCA.  500 yard swim, 9 mile bike, and a 3 mile run.  The bike will be on the Y’s spinning bikes and the run will be on the 1/13th mile indoor track- That’s 39 laps to you and me, Russ.  Start times are staggered throughout the day from 7:15 to 2:30.  I’m scheduled to get started at 8:30.  I’ve heard there will be no split times, so while I’m going to push this one pretty hard, it’ll really just be for fun.

The following 2 weeks will make this triathlon look like a picnic.

On Feb 27th, I’ll be running the Castlewood Cup at Castlewood State Park.  This will be a tough 15K trail run.  The trail is currently under 4-5 inches of snow.  Who knows what it’ll be like by next week, but my guess will be at the very least WET.

And finally on March 6th, I’ll be doing the 2010 AdventureMax 8-hour race in Wright City, MO at Innsbrook.  I’ll be doing this race with my neighbor/friend/training partner Dustan.  From the race website – The AdventureMax 8-Hour course is going to be a very challenging and thrilling course! It will consist of mountain biking 15-30 miles, trekking/running up to 20 miles, paddling 5-10 miles, all while using a map and compass! All racers will have up to 8-Hours to complete the course. Innsbrook Resort and the surrounding rural areas are going to be a fantastic location to introduce our first 8-Hour adventure race!

I’ve been training pretty hard since the beginning of the year and I feel like I’m in good shape.  The next 17 days are going to be very challenging and I’m looking forward to coming out on the other side in GREAT shape and ready to tackle the rest of the year.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 17, 2010 10:08 am

    Good luck, Gary! Have fun!

  2. Lorraine permalink
    February 17, 2010 11:42 am

    I wish you the best Gary and look forward to hearing how it all goes!

Leave a Reply

