Skip to content

Long Time Gone

February 3, 2010

I’ve really been slacking on my blog writing.  I thought I’d share an update and a preview of 2010 and kick off my training AND blog writing season.

While I haven’t done any races since the Great River Road 10 Mile on Nov, 28th, I have still been active.  My total miles have been down, but I’ve still been after it.  I ran 77 miles in December and 91 in January.  I have also got back on the bike to start building up my cycling base.  I did 80 miles in December and upped that to 161 in January.

I’ll be going through a huge shift in training this year by focusing more on the bike than on running.  During my marathon training, I was running 5 times a week and made it to over 40 miles per week.  This year, I’ll probably do 3 days of running most of the year and my total miles will be way down.  Big shift for me.  I’m going to have to *trust* my running base and really spend some time on the bike.

The first big race of the year was to be the Bonk Hard Chill 12-hour Adventure race on Feb 6th.  I was going to do this with my good friend, neighbor, and training partner Dustan.  Unfortunately (or maybe fortunately, we’ll have to see how the weather plays out) the race had to be re-scheduled.  We are now planning to do the UltraMax 8-hour Adventure race in Innsbrook, MO on March 6th.  Essentially, the same type of race – orienteering with running/trekking, biking and canoeing over 8 hours.  Oh, it’ll be an adventure, but it should be a lot of fun.  I’m sure it will lead to a very interesting blog post if nothing else.  😉

Races that are coming up soon –

  • An indoor triathlon at my local YMCA on Feb 20 – 500 yard swim, 9 mile bike, 3 mile run.  I pretty much just decided on this one today.
  • Castlewood Cup – a 15K Trail Race on Feb 27.
  • The UltraMax 8-hour Adventure Race on March 6th.
  • U-City 10 Mile on March 28th.
  • St. Louis Half Marathon on April 5th.

My first big triathlon will be an Olympic distance race at Carlyle Lake on May 23rd.  This will be my first long open water swim.  Getting through this one will set me up nicely for my main priority for the year, the Branson 70.3 Half Ironman in September.

I have a number of other triathlon’s planned throughout the summer and will also be running the Ragnar Relay Great River with Team Glucomotive in August.

I’m still working on putting together my training plan for the year (a major chore in itself), but as of this week, I’m officially in training mode.

And since I’m back to training in 3 sports….  it’s time to EAT!!!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 3, 2010 3:32 pm

    This is so impressive Gary. I enjoy following you and all hearing about all your accomplishments. It’s very inspiring.

    • February 3, 2010 3:33 pm

      “and hearing about all” I don’t know how that extra “all” got in there.

Leave a Reply

