Skip to content

Post-Run Highs

December 7, 2009

It just occurred to me – as I was cursing my post-run high – that my pre-run basal settings can be the same for a 4 mile run or a 10 run with intervals, but what I do post run makes all the difference in the world.

This literally just occurred to me, so I’ll need to prove my theory in future runs, but take today for example.  I had a relatively easy 4 miles this morning.  I lowered my basal 2 hours before my run and ate a package of peanut butter crackers a few minutes before starting.  I woke up with a 99 BG and finished my run at 120.  Perfect.  I bolused 1 unit and had about half of a G2 drink right after stopping and followed that with a snack of about 30 grams of carbs 1 hour after finishing.  I bolused the normal amount, but just tested, a WAY too high, 268 3 hours after the snack.  If I take into account the lowered basal amounts, and bolus that amount I would probably have covered that high.

Now, if I had run harder I’m thinking that I would not need to bolus to cover the lowered basals.  Hmmm… interesting theory.

I’ve been running for well over a year now and this just occurs to me today?  Better late than never.

It’s also interesting to note that I have not seen a difference later in the day with regards to run effort.  During the afternoon, following a morning run, I will typically lower my basal rate by 50% for 3 hours to prevent lows before dinner time.

I’ll try the same approach on Weds when I run harder and see what happens.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 7, 2009 11:16 am

    I try to think of a change in my basal rate having its biggest effect about 1 hour out. So perhaps you could return your basal to normal (or at least closer to normal) when you start running when you are going for your shorter runs.

    FWIW when I ran in the morning 6 days/week (before days of tri) I never changed my basal rate, or ate anything, before running. I usually would end up a little higher by the end. I figure that I had adjusted my basal rates so that I wouldn’t go low, since running was such an integral part of my daily routine.

    • December 7, 2009 11:19 am

      Thanks for the suggestion. I do actually try to return to normal/close to normal about 30 minutes before being done, but of course on shorter runs that doesn’t help much. 🙂 I might try going with an hour instead of 30 minutes in the future. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

