Skip to content

Great River Road 10 Mile – 50th Anniversary

December 4, 2009

Just wanted to write a quick post on my run last Saturday (Nov. 28th) at the Great River Road 10 Mile in Alton, IL.  This year marked the 50th running of this race… my 2nd.

The Great River Road 10 Mile was my last official race of, what I’m now calling, my “fiscal running year”.  I had hopes of breaking my 10 mile PR of 1:25:13, but realized where I was in my training and given that it was 65 degrees, it wasn’t going to happen.  One big thing I’ve learned over the past 14+ months of running is that you can’t just show up to a race and run faster than what you have built up in training.  It’s just not possible.

So, with all that in mind I set off for a 1:30, which would at least beat my time in last years race.  Time this year?  1:30:28.  Works for me.  601 out of 1256.  I could’ve laid it down in the last mile and beat 1:30, but the thought of being completely out of breath and hurting just didn’t appeal to me for some reason last Saturday.

My pacing was awesome…

9:19, 9:15, 9:08, 9:05, 8:52, 8:59, 8:58, 8:57, 9:03, 8:27

Love it.  Another thing I have gotten good at is coming up with a plan and sticking to it.  This pacing shows it pretty well.

My BG numbers were perfect for this race as well.  I stayed right around 140 the entire morning.

One final note… I couldn’t believe the number of people wearing long pants and jackets!  Folks.  Look at the weather report not the calendar.  It was SIXTY-FIVE degrees!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 5, 2009 7:08 pm

    congrats! what did you do wrt diabetes for the race? do you get the pre-race BG spike?

    • December 7, 2009 6:55 am

      Thanks Anne. My BG was nearly perfect for this race. Woke up at 85 at 8:00 AM. I can’t remember exactly what I ate, but I did eat something, which is a little unusual for me for a morning run/race. The race started at 10, so I figured I did need to eat something for breakfast.

      I ate a package of peanut butter crackers just before the start and also had 1 or maybe 2 GUs during the run.

      Here are the rest of the numbers…
      9:15 – 138
      9:54 – 119
      10:48 – 136
      11:17 – 112
      12:15 – 166

      Can’t beat that!

Trackbacks

  1. Long Time Gone « Running With T1

Leave a Reply

