Skip to content

One of those frustrating moments

November 5, 2009

I very rarely let myself get frustrated or upset dealing with life as a Type 1 Diabetic.  I just don’t do it.  Being Type 1 sucks.  Plain and simple.  But, I have it and it’s just part of my life…  every single second of my life, so I just don’t let it bother me.

However, there are those moments…

Earlier in the day I needed to change my infusion set.  When I put in the new set in hurt like the dickens.  I let in go for a few minutes, but just couldn’t stand it and decided to pull it out and switch back to the old site.  (NOTE:  It’s a good idea to leave the old site in for a while to let any remaining insulin soak in and if something goes wrong inserting the new site, it’s easy to go back.)  So, last night before my snack I decided to go ahead and insert a new site since the old one had been in for more than 3 days.  Inserted the new site, got together my snack, bolused and headed downstairs to watch the World Series.  Moments later – NO DELIVERY.  Awesome.  Back upstairs to rip out the new site and try again.  I got a new set together and, as I like to describe it, launched the needle into my body…  blood.  F.  Rather than wait for another NO DELIVERY to certainly come, I pulled it out and replaced it with yet another infusion set.

3  (yes, THREE) infusion sets later I said to my wife – “all this just to have a f*****g snack”.

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 5, 2009 9:08 am

    Ugh ,the stuff we go thru just to eat. Sorry you had to deal with all that crap.

  2. roger permalink
    November 12, 2009 9:53 pm

    yep, that sucks. go hybrid – keep the old school pens in the fridge for when your belly skin gets snarky. pumps are absolutely awesome but sometimes too much of a good thing….

Leave a Reply

