Skip to content

Post Marathon Life

October 20, 2009

After a few days of pain and suffering, I’m happy to say that all is well and I’m comfortably back running.

Last Monday and Tuesday following the Chicago Marathon, I was pretty sore.  I stayed home from work on Monday, but went back in on Tuesday.  Going down steps was probably the worst I had to deal with.  I did managed to put together my daughter’s new bed that we picked up from IKEA and actually moving around felt good.

Wednesday morning I went to the “Y” for a swim.  I took it pretty easy and only did about 750 yards.

Thursday afternoon I went for my first run.  Did 2 very easy miles and felt great.  Friday I pushed it a little further and did 4 and followed that up with 6 on Sunday.  This week, I’m trying to get back to a more normal training week.  I had a good solid 5.25 mile run yesterday morning and plan to do some intervals tomorrow.

I’ve signed up for a 10K (the 2009 Gumbo Flats 10K in Chesterfield, MO) this coming Saturday, a 5K on November 14th in my home town, and plan to do the Alton Great River Road 10 Miler on November 28th.  Keeping some things on the calendar will definitely help keep me going.  I went from thinking about taking the upcoming 10k easy to maybe even pushing it a bit to break my 10K PR of 57:12.

I did experience a good case of the post marathon blues.  The combination of being done with the marathon and a solid week of clouds and rain made for an odd feeling week.  The best I felt was after my first run on Thursday.  Getting back out there was wonderful.  I felt great and was ready to push on with post marathon life!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 20, 2009 7:50 am

    Good post… it’s freaky how BAD you feel after the marathon but how much better you feel even a week later.

    The blues are normal – it’s good to get a few races on the calendar to keep looking ahead.

    But use the time to be easier on yourself. There were two MISERABLE days of freezing drizzle here last week and I let myself skip them. It bugged me a little. But when I went out on the first gorgeous day after the rain, I felt great: mentally and physically.

  2. October 20, 2009 10:33 am

    I agree with Marcus! And take it easy with the intervals if you feel off at all. (Personally I would probably hold off anything really intense for 2-3 weeks.) Your body is probably still recovering and you don’t want to stress it more than it is ready for. I’m glad you are enjoying getting out there again. So what’s next?
    -Anne

    • October 20, 2009 10:37 am

      Yeah, I’m not going to go crazy with the intervals. I’m pretty much in a reverse taper mode. Building things back up slowly.

      After a few “shorter” races, I’m thinking about maybe another marathon in the spring, but really focusing on triathlons next year. Looking at the Half-Ironman in Branson in Sept.

Leave a Reply

