Skip to content

Chicago Marathon Training Week 14

September 29, 2009

Tues – 4.01, 10:04 pacechicago countdown 3
Wed – 8.79, 9:18 pace with 5 x 1mi repeats
Fri – 7.02, 9:27 with a faster 2nd half
Sat – 4.26, 9:56 pace
Sun – 12.01, 9:46 pace

Total miles for the week – 36.08.  Nothing too exciting to report on my first taper week.  Although at 36 miles, there didn’t feel like much tapering was going on.  I did fight with a little nagging pain in my upper right calf.  It felt like a cramp and I can pinpoint exactly were it is.  It came back for a while on my LSD, but worked itself out and feels fine now.

I can say that my complete obsession continues and I can not wait for Oct. 11th.  I’m consumed with reading anything and everything about the Chicago Marathon and even took the time to watch “The Spirit of the Marathon” off of Hulu.com.  This movie is centered around the 2005 Chicago Marathon and is a great movie with a lot of good story lines.  It also gave me a good view of the craziness that is 40,000 people starting a marathon.  Absolutely incredible.  Have I mentioned that I can’t wait?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 30, 2009 11:04 am

    When race day comes and you cross that starting line, I guarantee you will look back and appreciate everything about this — from starting training, through the peak weeks, even now during the taper weeks that will finally deliver you to Grant Park. Good luck!

  2. October 2, 2009 9:54 am

    Oct. 11 will be here before you know it. 🙂

  3. October 4, 2009 11:07 am

    OOhh! Time is almost upon you man – you will shred Chicago to tiny bits!

Leave a Reply

