Skip to content

Some thoughts on my upcoming Marathon

September 15, 2009

I am training to run my first marathon.  I’ll be running the Chicago Marathon on October 11th.

While the above two sentences are true and accurately describe my current situation, they are also deeply ingrained in my mind and control almost every single thing I do.  I actually worry about what I will do after the marathon.  The extreme emotional high followed by the emptiness of not training will be interesting to say the least.

As I have written before, if you are a running with Type 1 Diabetes you can’t just go out for a run at the drop of a hat.  There is quite a bit of planning and preparation that is involved and with a family mixed in, I’m almost always thinking about my next run:  How far am I scheduled to run?  When will I have time?  How do family plans and upcoming meals fit into the mix?  Planning and preparation are a huge part of a successful run and training plan for anybody, but especially for somebody with Diabetes.homer_running

After yesterday’s run, I have run over 350 miles during my training program (I am following an intermediate program by Nike created for Chicago).  At the end of the program, I will have covered almost 500 miles including two 20 mile runs and 3 weeks of over 40 miles each week.

I often envision myself crossing the finish line in Grant Park and can only imagine the emotions that I will feel.  I’m going to do my best to cross the finish line AND not be looking down at my watch for the race photo.

My Goals (the order of these are very important):

  1. Finish (don’t look down at my watch, don’t look down at my watch…)
  2. Control my Blood Glucose
  3. Have fun
  4. No walking
  5. Finish under 4:30.  I’ve considered going for 4 hours, but realistically I don’t think #1, #3 and #4 are possible under fours hours.  😉

Random thoughts:

  1. Running during the summer is tough.  You know your a runner if you consider 60 degrees still a little too hot.
  2. $10 is perfectly fine to pay for a pair of socks.
  3. I’ve graduated from chocolate outrage GU to Vanilla Bean GU to, almost exclusively, TriBerry GU.
  4. GU is E-X-P-E-N-S-I-V-E, but a necessary evil of a running diabetic.
  5. This summer I did a Duathlon, a Biathlon, and a Triathlon.  I’m hooked on Tris and I’m planning to do a 70.3 Half Ironman at the end of next summer.
  6. If I run a decent sub-4:30 marathon in Chicago, I might go for a sub-4 in Champaign next Spring.
  7. I don’t care how goofy I look without a shirt on, wearing a heart rate monitor, sporting a farmer’s tan running in the rain at 6:30 AM.
One Comment leave one →
  1. September 15, 2009 7:16 am

    “they are also deeply ingrained in my mind and control almost every single thing I do. “….. sooooo very true.

    I think your goals are dynamite and I’m confident you’ll hit them all.

    RE: post-marathon – have some small races planned after a month of easy running. I had a nice 5k PR six weeks after my first marathon, thanks to all of the hard training. You’re right – you WILL feel a bit empty. Hell, I can barely walk today and yet I’m also annoyed that I don’t have a plan for the week. 🙂

Leave a Reply

