Skip to content

Waterloo Optimist Club 7th Annual 5k

August 31, 2009

This weekend I ran my local Optimist Club’s Annual 5K.  Running a fast 5K isn’t really my thing.  I was shooting for a best-case-scenario 24:00.  I ran a 24:59 in a very crowded All-Star Game 5K a few weeks ago, so as long as I beat that, I’d be happy.  This 5K was on a course that I run almost every weekend and is quite hilly, so I knew a 24:00 would be tough.brats

Well, I set 2 PRs this weekend.  #1 – Fastest 5K of 23:20 and #2 Earliest bratwurst eaten at 8:40 am.

The race started out pretty fast and I even held back a bit.  My 1st mile was 7:21, followed by a 7:43 and a 7:42 and finally 0:32 to the finish.  I gave it just about all I had and given the hilly course, I’m very proud of my time.

BG wise, I had a good race as well.  I ran a quick 1.12 mile warm up and tested at 160 prior to the start.  I had a GU right before the start and tested at 160 at the end.  Yeah!  I again had my basal set to 50% 2 hours before the race and left it there until the race was over.

All in all, I’m very happy with how the race went and throughly enjoyed the bratwurst for breakfast after a fast 5k!!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 31, 2009 11:37 am

    Awesome–congrats!

  2. Lorraine permalink
    August 31, 2009 4:53 pm

    Fantastic – I love your stories!!

Leave a Reply

