Skip to content

Chicago Marathon Training – Week 9

August 27, 2009

Mon – 7.00, 10:04 pace
Wed – 6.00, 9:24 pace including 2×1200 intervals.
Thu – 6.50, 8:59 pace – marathon pace run
Fri – 5.00, 10:16
Sun – 18.00, 10:10 pace

Total miles for the week – 42.5!!  This week included a 6 miler on Weds that was supposed to be a 7.75 miler, but when light rain turned into a down pour I decided I didn’t need to risk an injury.  I made up most of that extra 1.75 on Thursday and Friday.

This week also included the most total miles for a week at 42.5 and my longest run to date of 18.  I ran the 18 in 3:03:08 and felt good (57 degrees at the start helped!).  BG stayed very consistent throughout the run.  I tested approx. every 4 to 5 miles and then made the decision to either take a GU/Gatorade or just a GU/water or just to hold off for a while.  The 4 to 5 mile mark worked pretty well.  I did eat some peanut butter crackers before my run, which helped not going too low early in the run, so I think I’m going to stick with that.  As far as my basal was concerned, I lowered it (via the use of a basal pattern) to approx. 50% of my normal rate 2 hours before starting and left it there until I had about 30 minutes to go.  I had no issues going high right after the run, but did do battle with lows later in the day despite again lowering my basal for 3 hours in the afternoon.

I was fairly sore on Monday, especially in my calves, but I have since recovered nicely.  This week is a cutback week, with a long run of only 6 miles.  I am going to do a local 5K on Saturday and plan to push it and possibly try to break 24:00.  Next week will be my first of two 20 milers!

45 days to go!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 27, 2009 5:40 am

    That’s a real solid week of training! As you get to your 20’s, the weather should be breaking soon, too, which will be nice.

  2. August 28, 2009 11:45 am

    I guess it is time for the 20s for you Chi-town runners. Nice job on the new high mileage week. I’m looking forward to hearing about all the stories leading up to Chicago!

    Vince (aka “slugline” on RWOL)

Leave a Reply

