Skip to content

Monroe County YMCA Biathlon

June 24, 2009

Saturday I participated in the Monroe County YMCA Biathlon in Columbia, IL. This was a 3.5 mile run followed by a 17 mile bike at my local, hometown Y. ymca

There were close to 50 participants for this first time event, so while it was a small crowd, I thought it was actually a decent turnout. I didn’t intend to push it very much in this race and while I don’t have an official time yet, I think I finished mid-pack and probably still beat everybody that I should have ;-).

My unofficial time from my watch was 1:31:38. 32:00 for the run. Just over 2 minutes for the transition and then 57:29 for the bike. The run was a flat course, but the bike was a different story. The first 6 miles or so were flat, but endless rolling hills followed that. I doubt that the guys with tri-bikes and aerobars spent much time in the aero position. It was a tough ride, but a lot of fun.

I’m really enjoying the bike portion of these races. Soon after the bike part started, I was past by a guy in a Mizzou (ugh) t-shirt. Here was my challenge. I followed him for at least 12 miles and keep within .1 miles the entire time. I pushed it hard up a hill just before the 12 mile mark and nearly made up all of the difference and noticed him starting to struggle. I passed him just before another downhill section and pulled away to the finish. I congratulated him on a good ride and we both enjoyed the competition.

It was a warm, humid day. I think my car said 85 as I was heading home, but it really wasn’t too bad. I did manage to have a GREAT blood glucose day. I had one GU after the run and another on the bike and tested at 100 at the end. I LOVE 100’s!

Another fun race and I’m looking forward to my first Tri on July 4th.

I think I’m totally hooked on Biathlons and Triathlons now.

Oh yeah… and marathon training started this week. No biggy. 😉

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Christopher Braun permalink
    June 24, 2009 6:25 am

    Great job Gary! Best of luck in the Tri and the marathon!

  2. June 26, 2009 9:51 am

    very cool Gary! 🙂

Leave a comment