Skip to content

GO! St. Louis Half Marathon

April 21, 2009

This past Sunday I ran the GO! St. Louis Half Marathon.  I met my goal of finishing under 2 hours with a time of 1:56:27.  The St. Louis Half Marathon course is a tough and very hilly course and while I had been gunning for a 1:50 finish, I’m very happy with a 1:56 and I am one step closer to my life long goal of running a marathon.

Sunday morning presented another first for me.  Not only was it my first official 13.1 (I ran an unofficial 13.1 on Jan 3rd), it was also my first 13.1 in the RAIN!  A light rain accompanied our entire run, but fortunately the temp remained around 60 degrees with very little wind.  So, while I was absolutely soaked, it could’ve been much worse.  Here’s an actual picture of me at the finish…

duck-in-rain1

The race started at 7:00 am and I had lined up near the 1:50 pacer.  I stayed with the pack until around the 7 mile marker when I realized a 1:50 just wasn’t in the cards for me.  I woke up with a near perfect 96 BG reading in the morning and ate about 15 grams of carbs to try to get my BG to come up a bit.  I also ate my usual 20-25 grams of carbs about 15 minutes before the start, but I just couldn’t get my BG up.  I stayed around 90 for the entire race according to my CGM.  My tester wasn’t much use since it was as wet as I was.  I ate 4 GUs along the way, but just couldn’t get any higher and generally felt weak during the run.  Heading towards the finish, around mile 12, there is a pretty big climb and since 1:50 was out of reach, but under 2 hours still was, I decided to walk it and not risk a disaster.  I HATE the idea of walking, but decided it was the smart thing to do.

My splits tell the story…

stl-half-marathon-2009-splits2

It was a tough day, but I still ran 13.1 miles under 2 hours.  This is a tremendous accomplishment and something I thought I might never do.  I was emotional at the start and certainly at the finish.  My wife, mother-in-law and daughter were there to cheer me on.  I can’t thank them enough for braving the ridiculous weather conditions to be there for me.

Next up is my first Duathlon.  A 5K run, 20K bike, 5K run event.  I’ve got a month to get on my bike.  I need to get moving!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

