Skip to content

U-City 10 Mile and Technology Failure

March 30, 2009

Some words to describe yesterday’s race?  How ’bout… Cold, wet, snow, rain, sleet, fast and FUN!

Yesterday, I ran the 1st Annual U-City 10 Mile Run in University City, St. Louis.  After a nice sunny week with temperatures in the high 60’s, the morning greeted us at 37 degrees and a couple inches of nice wet SNOW.  A quick snow storm blew through the St. Louis area very early Sunday morning leaving the roads wet and everything else covered with snow.  Fortunately it was still “warm” enough that there weren’t any icy conditions making for surprising pleasant run.

The main issue was dodging puddles and the melting snow falling off the trees.  I took 2 direct hits.  One huge, snow ball size, hit to the arm and another smaller, but more precise hit directly in the ear.

These may not sound like the best conditions, but let me tell you it was a BLAST.  I really enjoyed my run.  I finished in 1:25:13.  10 mile personal record!  126th out of 392.  The course included some decent size hills, but also included some nice downhill runs.  The start was on a tight stretch of road, so it took a while to get going, but after that, my splits were good…

ucity-10-mile-splits

I really felt great from the get-go.  It usually takes me a few miles to get into a rhythm, but yesterday I was feeling good as soon as Ronald McDonald said “go”.  He did… really.

ronald_mcdonald_jumping1

Fun race.  Good course.  I expect this race to really grow.  The folks at Ghisallo Running did a nice job.  My first official Half Marathon will be the Go! St. Louis Half on April 19th, so this was the perfect tune up.  I haven’t been feeling that great about hitting my Half goal, but after yesterday’s run, I think I’m ready to go!

Everything wasn’t all roses (snow covered roses) yesterday.  I have been wearing a Minimed Continuous Glucose Monitor (CGM) for a few months now and at times love it and other times… don’t love it so much.  For the most part it is an AMAZING tool to help me control my type 1 diabetes and is a tremendous help on my runs.  The last few weeks have seen some hiccups.  A couple days ago my CGM said I was 130.  My meter said I was 238.  This happened first thing in the morning when my BG was NOT changing.  A few days before that my daughter dug her elbow into my stomach and managed to pull out the sensor just enough that it needed to be changed.  So, while it is a great tool, it is far from perfect.

Yesterday morning I woke up with a BG around 107.  I little to low to go for a fast 10 mile run.  I ate a few carbs and headed off for the race.  I test around 188 just before the race.  Not bad.  Gave myself a small bolus of 1.5 units and ate half of a bagel with peanut butter and I was ready to run.

Right before the race start I got a CAL ERROR on my CGM.  Awesome.  Ran back to the car to test again.  Now at 222.  Still ok BG wise, but not perfect.  About a mile down the road…  SENSOR BAD.  F.  I decided to go ahead and restart the sensor to see what happens.  A few minutes later the CGM asked for a BG reading, so I just faked it and put in 200 or something.  I really don’t remember for sure, but I don’t believe the CGM ever came back on with a good BG number.  Shortly after the race, I got another SENSOR BAD error and shut ‘er down after that.  I don’t know what the problem was, but my CGM completely failed me yesterday.

During the run I just went with what I normally do.  I ate a GU around the 4 mile mark and another around the 7 mile mark.  Felt GREAT the entire run despite testing at 238 after.  I normal don’t like to be that high, but it worked yesterday.

Side note:  After attempting to prevent a post run high (3 units after run, 2.4 more with a bagel) I arrived home and tested at 356.  Whoops!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 31, 2009 12:42 pm

    Awesome account of your race Gary. Looks like you will be team anchor next year!

  2. Agent Nero permalink
    April 2, 2009 7:40 am

    Great work on a PR, Gary! Glad to see you’re still after it.

    Peter

Leave a Reply

