Skip to content

First 13.1 Run

January 5, 2009

I had my first 13.1 this past Saturday, January 3rd, 2009.  I ran with my neighbor and running inspiration, Dustan (his first 13.1 too).  We planned on 12, but decided to push it to 13.1 to start the New Year off right.  It was PERFECT running weather.  It was cloudy, foggy, and misting.  It was around 50 degrees with very light wind.  It was great.  At one point during the hilly section I couldn’t tell which hill we were on because of the fog, fortunately it was the last one.  😉

Here are my splits…

first-half-splits1

This was also my first run with my new Garmin 305.  Woohoo!  Loved it.  What a great tool.  So much useful information.  I can’t wait to use it more, especially for interval training.  It will help me reach my sub-2 hour goal for the St. Louis Half Marathon in April.

Blood glucose wise, I had a good run as well.  I had been running pretty high in the morning, but managed to nail the corrections and felt solid during the entire run.  I had a slice of wheat bread with peanut butter before the run and only had 2 GUs during the run.  I was at 166 when we finished.  After the run was a different story.  I’ve noticed that I’ll be high after longer runs, so I did bolus after the run, but it didn’t help.  I was around 380 the rest of the day.  Bummer.  I got ‘er down, but it took many corrections.  This is an area I’ll need to improve on.

Pain?  Just my feet.  My feet have been quite sore since the run.  Saturday I could barely walk around the house bare foot.  It’s wearing off now.  I played soccer last night and that seemed to loosen me up a bit.  No other pain or soreness to speak off, so that’s a very good thing.

Next up is a slow recovery week.  I ran around 29 miles last week including the 13.1 long run, so this needs to be a recovery week.

I’m excited to reach this milestone.  A major goal in my life is to run a marathon and once I become diabetic I pretty much ruled it out thinking that it would just be too difficult.  I’m finding that it’s not all that difficult to manage my diabetes and run.  In fact, the improvements in my health have been noticable and I’m thankful that I have set off on this journey.  Reaching 13.1 is a HUGE milestone for me.  Next big one is running an official half in April and then a full in October in Chicago.  I’m well on my way.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

