Skip to content

Gumbo Flats 10K

October 27, 2008

I ran my first 10K at the Gumbo Flats Pumpkin run in Chesterfield, MO over the weekend.  I went into the race shooting for <58 and I made it in 57:48 (#292 of 511).  I had to push the last mile pretty hard to get there.  It was perfect race weather at 45 degrees with very little wind.  The course was an out-and-back course and very flat.  Not the most exciting scenery, but the after race food selection was fantastic.  I had a few to many Chick-Fil-A Chick-n-Minis…

I ran most of the race with my neighbor Dustan, who inspired me to get back into running once again.  His wife and there 2 kids along with Mama, Mindy, Belle and Brady walked the 5K.  I think everybody had a good time.

This was my second race and both times now I have tested at ~240 just before the race.  On both occassions I ate about 2 hours before the race and bolused (what I thought was) correctly.  I had forgot to turn down my basal rate until 30 minutes before the race, so I was kind of thrown off there, but evertyhing turned out fine.  I think I was about 140 after the race.  I’ve got to figure out the pre-race highs.  It may be stress related.  Also, note that I only corrected about half the recommended amount before both of my races and ate ~20g of carbs around the 3 mile mark.

Moment of the race was at the 2 mile drink station when the gentleman who hand me my water did so with his bandaged thumb sticking in the water!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

