Skip to content

Glucomotive

June 30, 2011

Earlier this year I contemplated taking on a new role as a Triabetes Captain for Insulindependence (IN).  After much consideration I decided that it wasn’t for me at this time and would maybe consider it at a later date.  Soon after that was my trip to Carlsbad to run in the Carlsbad Marathon with a large group of IN runners.  John Moore, VP of IN, had hinted that there maybe another role that I could play within the organization and after talking to John and Peter Nerothin (the founder of IN) I was asked to be the Club Manager for Glucomotive.  I suppose 28 hours in a van with Peter during the 2009 Ragnar Relay served as a good interview for me. ;-)

Glucomotive is the running and walking club of IN.  I have come to realize, after a fantastic speech by IN Board Member John Gallagher (principal of Gallagher Associates) at Insulindependence University, that Glucomotive has an amazing future ahead of it.  Glucomotive is not just reserved for marathon and ultra-marathon runners.  It is open to everybody and anybody with diabetes that is looking to live a healthy and active lifestyle through walking and running.  When Mr. Gallagher said this, my eyes really opened up and realize that the sky is the limit for this group.

This season, 2011-12, IN is having Glucomotive Captains just like Triabetes has in the past.  We recruited 8 fantastic individuals to act as Captains for this season, culminating with the 2012 Denver Marathon.  Each Captain is raising $4,000, will be hosting monthly events in their own communities called Dawn Phenoms, and will also be mentoring a child with Type 1 Diabetes.  Powerful stuff.

This past week all the Insulindependence clubs (Glucomotive, Testing Limits, and Triabetes) met in San Diego for Insulindependence University (U of IN).  This was a week long training session for the Captains to help them go out and fulfill their responsibilities as Captains.  I’ll go into more detail in my next blog post, but just let me tell you this was an amazing week and provided tremendous learning opportunities for everybody.

My position of Club Manager is a volunteer position and has already proven to be quite rewarding and I’m looking forward to the next 16 months with my Captains. I like to call them “my Captains” by the way. ;-)

IN is a life changing organization and there are so many amazing folks involved at the core. I’m tremendously honored to be serving as the Glucomotive Club Manager and looking forward to being a part of it’s growth.

Please consider making a small donation in my name in support of IN.  You can donate here.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 30, 2011 10:36 am

    Awesome honor! Great job! Denver sounds terrific!

  2. June 30, 2011 10:55 am

    What a great post…So excited to run with you this summer Gary!

  3. July 4, 2011 2:39 am

    That’s awesome Gary! Congratulations!

    I got to meet Peter briefly in LA a few months ago – hard not to love the guy and everything that he’s doing!

    You’ll be great with this. Can’t wait to hear more!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

